Thursday, February 24, 2022

Friday Focus: The Friday 56 and Book Beginnings

16


It's Friday . . . time to share book excerpts with:
  • Book Beginnings on Fridays hosted by Rose City Reader, where bloggers share the first sentence or more of a current read, as well as initial thoughts about the sentence(s), impressions of the book, or anything else that the opening inspires.  
  • The Friday 56 hosted by Freda's Voice, where you grab a book and turn to page 56 (or 56% of an eBook), find one or more interesting sentences (no spoilers), and post them.

Today I'm featuring The Other Family by Wendy Corsi Staub. The excerpts shared are from a large print edition borrowed from the library.


The Other Family



Beginning:  Nora

The Howell family moves into 104 Glover Street in Brooklyn on the Friday before Labor Day.

********************  

Page 56:  Heather turns to Nora and Keith. "Really, I'm so sorry about Lennon. He went through a bad breakup over the summer. He's always been a little dark, but now he's..."

********************  

My thoughts:  A new neighborhood, a home with a sinister history, and an odd neighbor--these characteristics are sure to deliver a compelling domestic suspense story.

********************  

From GoodReads:  New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub makes her trade paperback debut with a fast-paced thriller in the vein of Lisa Jewell's The Family Upstairs and Megan Collins' The Winter Sister. Here, a family making a fresh start moves into a house which was the site of an unsolved triple homicide--and are watched by an unknown person...

The watcher sees who you are...and knows what you did.

It's the perfect home for the perfect family: pretty Nora Howell, her handsome husband, their two teenage daughters, and lovable dog. As California transplants making a fresh start in Brooklyn, they expected to live in a shoebox, but the brownstone has a huge kitchen, lots of light, and a backyard. The catch: its previous residents were victims of a grisly triple homicide that remains unsolved.

Soon, peculiar things begin happening. The pug is nosing around like a bloodhound. Nora unearths a long-hidden rusty box in the flowerbed. Oldest daughter Stacey, obsessed with the family murdered in their house, pokes into the bloody past and becomes convinced that a stranger is watching the house. Watching them.

She's right. But one of the Howells will recognize his face. Because one of them has a secret that will blindside the others with a truth that lies shockingly close to home--and to this one's terrifying history.




*******************
This Friday Focus: The Friday 56 & Book Beginnings post was originally composed and/or compiled and published by Catherine for the blog, bookclublibrarian.com.  It cannot be republished without attribution.

 

8 comments:

  1. Definitely would like to read that one!! Enjoy!😁

    ReplyDelete
  2. The opening doesn't grab me, but I want to know how the sentence in the 56 is going to end.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great excerpts. I have had my eye on this one, as I enjoy the author. Maybe I need to download it now! Here's mine:”THE SHADOW WIFE”

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds interesting, enjoy! https://cindysbookcorner.blogspot.com/2022/02/first-line-friday-40-to-disguise-truth.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really want to read this one! Sounds right up my alley! Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds good! I've enjoyed the books I've read by this author and this one looks interesting. The present tense writing style always takes me a bit to get used to but I always do.

    ReplyDelete