Thursday, September 8, 2016

Friday Focus: The Friday 56 & Book Beginnings

It's Friday . . . time to share book excerpts with:
  • Book Beginnings on Fridays hosted by Rose City Reader, where bloggers share the first sentence or more of a current read, as well as initial thoughts about the sentence(s), impressions of the book, or anything else that the opening inspires.  
  • The Friday 56 hosted by Freda's Voice, where you grab a book and turn to page 56 (or 56% of an ebook), find one or more interesting sentences (no spoilers), and post them.
Today I'm featuring The Traveling Tea Shop by Belinda Jones.  The excerpts shared are from an E-book I borrowed from the library. 
The Traveling Tea Shop 
BeginningChapter 1
I look up at my clock.  1:30 P.M.  My stomach flips like a pancake.  Or should I say PamCake?
56% (appoximately):  "In she goes with an ungainly splosh, so disoriented by the sudden switch from dry land to bog that she lurches forward and goes under, all bar the hand holding her phone, which remains sticking up like a periscope.
God, I wish I had that on video."
My thoughts:  This is my first Belinda Jones novel, and  I will be starting it this weekend.  Flipping through the pages, I was surprised to see a Letter to the Reader from the author (below) and a map of The Traveling Tea Shop Tour.  These are such nice touches that welcome the reader and give a "taste" of what is to come.  They definitely heighten my anticipation for the story.
Dearest Reader,
What an utterly yummy experience it was writing this book for you--because of you I got to sample an abundance of sweet treats and call it work!
     My first experience of The Wonder of Cake was eagerly waiting for my mum to let me lick the mixture from the bowl as a kiddywink, so it seemed appropriate that I set out on the research trip with her.  The only snag is that she really doesn't have a sweet tooth, so as I would be marveling at all the exquisite fondant-swirled delights on offer, she would be ordering a bowl of carrot soup.  (Though I have to say, she did succumb to the Boston Cream Pie!)
     Of course, there's more to The Traveling Tea Shop than cake!  With four leading ladies, there is an abundance of emotions to explore, as well as the idyllic setting of New England.  I knew it would be leafy and picturesque but I was amazed how different each state was, though it was the littlest--Rhode Island--that captured my heart.  That said, I look forward to hearing where you would most like to have afternoon tea!
     In the meantime, cozy up with a cuppa and a cupcake--you are welcome to leave little smudges of frosting on the pages as you turn them!
Your author,
Belinda xx
 From GoodreadsA delectable tale of friendship, love and cake for fans of Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella...
Laurie loves a challenge. Especially if it involves anything beautiful, baked and frosted. The brief is simple: With three other women, Laurie will board a London bus - kitted out as an English tea shop - on a deliciously different road trip of the USA.

Their mission: To bring home-grown classics like Battenberg, Victoria sponge and scones to the land of cupcakes, whoopie pies and gold-leafed chocolate sundaes.

And to show them how a real cup of tea is made. All of the women have their own secrets and heartaches to heal. As well as a grand appreciation of cupcakes, there's also the chance for romance...

But will making whoopee lead to love?

All aboard for: New York - Connecticut - Rhode Island - Massachusetts - Maine - New Hampshire - Vermont
Which book are you reading now or about to start? 

Friday Focus: The Friday 56 & Book Beginnings was originally published by Catherine for This post cannot be republished without attribution.  Retweeting and sharing on Google+ are appreciated.

No comments:

Post a Comment