Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Can't Wait Wednesday

  
Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tessa at Wishful Endings which spotlights and discusses forthcoming books that bloggers are looking forward to reading. Generally it's about books that haven't been released yet. This meme is based on Waiting on Wednesday, formerly hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

There are so many exciting new books on the horizon, so without further adieu, this week's Can't Wait For book is . . . 


The Last Romantics: A Novel 
Release Date:  February 19, 2019
Publisher:  William Morrow


From Goodreads:  The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings.

“The greatest works of poetry, what makes each of us a poet, are the stories we tell about ourselves. We create them out of family and blood and friends and love and hate and what we’ve read and watched and witnessed. Longing and regret, illness, broken bones, broken hearts, achievements, money won and lost, palm readings and visions. We tell these stories until we believe them.”

When the renowned poet Fiona Skinner is asked about the inspiration behind her iconic work, The Love Poem, she tells her audience a story about her family and a betrayal that reverberates through time.

It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings—fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona—emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected.  Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they’ve made and ask what, exactly, they will do for love.

A sweeping yet intimate epic about one American family,
The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the ties that bind us together, the responsibilities we embrace and the duties we resent, and how we can lose—and sometimes rescue—the ones we love. A novel that pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories—how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.
 
 
 
My thoughts:  I'm always fascinated by family stories that explore the dynamics between siblings and the bonds they forge.  For these reasons, Conklin's forthcoming novel sounds especially appealing to me.
 
 
This Can't Wait Wednesday post was originally composed and/or compiled and published by Catherine for the blog, bookclublibrarian.com.  It cannot be republished without attribution. Sharing this original post on Twitter, Google+ and/or other blogs with appropriate recognition is appreciated.
 

7 comments:

  1. This one sounds super interesting! I'll definitely be adding to my TBR :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oooh! This book sounds interesting! Great pick!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  3. Now I want to read this one, too. I also love stories with sibling dynamics- always fascinating and so many perspectives to explore! I hope you enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Not my usual read but I am curious about the sisters - thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wow. That description swept me off my feet. Now I want to read this one too, Catherine.I hope you have a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This looks really good. Thanks for sharing the info about it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ohh great pick this one looks and sounds very intriguing, I hope you enjoy it when you get the chance to read it. thank you so much for stopping by my CWW.

    ReplyDelete