Thursday, June 11, 2020

Friday Focus: The Friday 56 & Book Beginnings

16

It's Friday . . . time to share book excerpts with:
  • Book Beginnings on Fridays hosted by Rose City Reader, where bloggers share the first sentence or more of a current read, as well as initial thoughts about the sentence(s), impressions of the book, or anything else that the opening inspires.  
  • The Friday 56 hosted by Freda's Voice, where you grab a book and turn to page 56 (or 56% of an eBook), find one or more interesting sentences (no spoilers), and post them.

Today I'm featuring a recent blog tour read, Booked for Death, the first book in the Book Lovers B&B cozy mystery series by Victoria Gilbert  The excerpts shared are from the eBook I received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


Beginning:  Chapter One
ship may bob, safe at harbor, but that doesn't mean it hasn't experienced the wide world--or won't again.

Shading my eyes with one hand, I surveyed the flotilla of yachts and sailboats and skiffs anchored at the Beaufort, North Carolina, docks.  When people questioned my decision to become an innkeeper in this historic waterfront town, I always told them I was like those vessels--quiet and settled at the moment, but still ready to sail off on a new adventure whenever I chose.


******************** 
56% of eBook:  "You're a pretty smart cookie, aren't you?  I hadn't thought of that..."
********************

My thoughts:  The opening paragraphs speak to protagonist Charlotte Reed's determination to start her life over after the tragic, untimely death of her husband Brent.  But the widow may face more challenging circumstances than she ever expected when she takes the reins of Chapters, the literary-themed bed-and-breakfast she inherited from her great-aunt Isabella.

********************

From Goodreads:  From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books. Victoria Gilbert embarks on a new series perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell.

A book lover's B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder--and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth.  

Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader's paradise.  Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating looks, genres, and authors.  It's the perfect literary retreat--until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey.  

The victim's daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains.  Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises.

Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt's name.  But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer's death.  Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer--or end up writing her own final chapter.


*******************
This Friday Focus: The Friday 56 & Book Beginnings post was originally composed and/or compiled and published by Catherine for the blog, bookclublibrarian.com.  It cannot be republished without attribution. 

10 comments:

Breana M. said...

I haven't read anything by this author before. That being said, Booked for Death sounds like a great story. I mean, how can you go wrong with a story set in a literary-themed bed and breakfast?

Marg said...

A booklover's B&B sounds idyllic! Maybe without a murder!

Matt Sweeney said...

The cover looks like an uplifting kids book. But then there's a murder. Not really sure what to think of that one. But it definitely looks like one of a kind!

My Friday post: https://www.woodpeckerbooks.com/2020/06/12/giveaway-dwarf-story-blog-tour/

Laurel-Rain Snow said...

This one sounds so good! I am always up for anything bookish, and a literary-themed B & B setting could be so delightful. Of course, as the first book in a new cozy mystery series, it's a winner. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for visiting my blog.

fredamans said...

This sounds like a fab cozy!! Happy weekend, stay safe!

Yvonne said...

I really enjoyed this one.

Anne@HeadFullofBooks said...

Sounds like a good book to get lost in. My Friday Quotes

Gilion at Rose City Reader said...

A literary-themed B&B? Sounds good to me!

Lauren Stoolfire said...

I might have to add this to my tbr. Thanks for sharing.

Lauren @ Always Me

Elza Reads said...

I love reading cozy mysteries during the holiday times. Especially if the settings are having holiday vibes. It's winter holidays here in SA. Time for snuggling and reading!

Hope you enjoy all your weekend reads.

Here's mine WeekendBookFriends

Post a Comment