Friday, June 12, 2020

Great Escapes Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway: Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert


 

Today I'm participating in the Booked for Death Blog Tour.  In this post you'll find book and author information along with my review.  And be sure to enter the giveaway for a chance to win an advance reader copy of the book.


About the book . . .


Booked for Death
Book Lovers B&B Mystery Series
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books (August 11, 2020)
Hardcover: 320 pages
ISBN-10: 1643853074
ISBN-13: 978-1643853079
Digital ASIN: B07XX7PHTV

Synopsis . . . From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books. Victoria Gilbert embarks on a new series perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell.

A book lover's B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder--and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth.  

Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader's paradise.  Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating books, genres, and authors.  It's the perfect literary retreat--until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey.  

The victim's daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains. Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises.

Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt's name.  But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer's death.  Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer--or end up writing her own final chapter.


My review . . . When former high school teacher Charlotte Reed inherits a bed-and-breakfast from her great-aunt Isabella, she is determined to start a new chapter in her life.  The forty-something widow is still grieving the tragic, untimely loss of her heroic husband as she sets down roots in the historic waterfront community of Beaufort, North Carolina.  With her own hard work and assistance from local residents, Charlotte begins hosting literary-themed events that draw visitors to the inn.

During a week of festivities celebrating the work of mystery writer Josephine Tey, the unexpected happens.  In the midst of a War of the Roses costume-theme dinner party, one of the guests--rare book dealer Lincoln Delamont--is found dead in the carriage house.  He has been stabbed, and all of the guests and staff subsequently find themselves on the list of suspects. Concern for the inn's reputation compels Charlotte to undertake her own investigation of the crime.  And as the many unsavory aspects of Lincoln's life emerge, multiple motives are uncovered.

To catch the elusive killer, a final literary event is arranged. The assembled group is drawn into conversation about their relationships to the deceased and individual alibis, which ultimately leads to a confession and arrest of the guilty party.

Gilbert's abundant use of red herrings, intriguing sub-plot about the inn's previous owner, and homage to Josephine Tey keep readers thoroughly engaged.  And for those readers who may guess whodunnit before all is said and done, the use of the classic technique of a group gathering to reveal all is a treat.  The characters are quirky, eclectic, and multi-dimensional, with their strengths and weaknesses expertly revealed over the course of the story.  It was particularly rewarding to witness protagonist Charlotte come into her own as the story progressed, tapping into innate detecting skills she didn't realize she had. 

This new series--Book Lovers B&B Mysteries--is off to a good start and delightfully named.  After all, who wouldn't find it heavenly to stay at an inn near the water named Chapters, in a literary-themed guest room with access to an extensive personal library?  It will be fun to revisit this appealing setting and its cast of characters in future series installments.


Giveaway . . . Enter the Booked for Death Giveaway for a chance to win an advance reader copy (U.S. only) by clicking on this link.


About the author . . . Victoria Gilbert, raised in the shadow of the Blue Ridge Mountains, turned her early obsession with reading into a dual career as an author and librarian. Victoria has worked as a reference librarian, research librarian, and library director. 


When not writing or reading, she likes to spend her time watching films, gardening, or traveling. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and International Thriller Writers, and lives in North Carolina. 


Author links . . . 



Purchase links . . . 
Amazon     B&N    Kobo    Indie Bound 



 


Tour Participants . . .
June 8 – The Bookwyrm’s Hoard – REVIEW
June 8 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
June 9 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW
June 9 – Hearts & Scribbles – SPOTLIGHT
June 10 – MJB Reviewers – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
June 10 – A Holland Reads – SPOTLIGHT
June 10 – Diane Reviews Books – REVIEW
June 11 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW
June 11 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW
June 12 – Book Club Librarian – REVIEW
June 13 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW
June 13 – The Book Diva’s Reads – GUEST POST
June 14 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW
June 14 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – REVIEW
June 15 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW
June 15 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
June 15 – Brianne’s Book Reviews – REVIEW
June 16 – Ascroft, eh? – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
June 16 – Moonlight Rendezvous– REVIEW
June 16 – Jane Reads – GUEST POST
June 17 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – REVIEW
June 17 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW
June 18 – View from the Birdhouse – REVIEW
June 18 – Ruff Drafts – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
June 19 – That’s What She’s Reading – REVIEW
June 19 – Sapphyria’s Books – REVIEW
June 20 – Socrates Book Reviews – REVIEW
June 20 – Brooke Blogs – REVIEW
June 21 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW
June 21 – Literary Gold – CHARACTER GUEST POST




Note . . . I received a complimentary copy of Booked for Death from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.



 

This Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway post was originally composed and/or compiled and published by Catherine for the Book Club Librarian blog.  It cannot be republished without attribution.  









3 comments:

Victoria Gilbert said...

Thanks so much for participating in the blog tour and for reviewing my book!

Kay Garrett said...

Thank you for your review on "Booked for Death" by Victoria Gilbert and for being part of the book tour.

Can't wait for the opportunity to read this book on my TBR list.
2clowns at arkansas dot net

Yvonne said...

I'm part of the tour too and really enjoyed this one.

Post a Comment