Monday, January 28, 2013

2013 Man Booker International Prize

1st place,awards,numbers,prizes,special occasions,sports,trophies

This year's Man Booker International Prize finalists were announced late last week.   The names and bios of the ten finalists can be viewed at this Man Booker link.

The international prize, which is awarded every 2 years, differs from the Man Booker Prize for fiction, which is awarded annually.  For the 2013 fiction prize, the long list of finalists will be announced in July, followed by the short list announcement in September, and the winner announcement in October.

The information below, from, describes the Man Booker International prize and describes how it differs from the Man Booker Prize for Fiction: 

Worth £60,000, the prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language. The winner is chosen solely at the discretion of the judging panel and there are no submissions from publishers.

Launched in 2005, the Man Booker International Prize has already established itself as a major player in the literary world and has literary excellence as its sole focus.

The Man Booker International Prize is significantly different from the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction in that it highlights one writer's overall contribution to fiction on the world stage. In seeking out literary excellence, the judges consider a writer's body of work rather than a single novel.  Writers from across the globe are eligible for the bi-annual prize, provided their work is available in English. 

This year's winner will be announced on May 22, 2013 in London.  Previous Man Booker International Prize bi-anual winners can be seen at these links:  2011  2009  2007  2005


Follow me on Twitter: @bookclubreader

2013 Man Booker International Prize was originally published by Catherine for This post cannot be republished without express written consent.

No comments:

Post a Comment